Turning 100

This blog post marks my 100th post *cue sounds of celebration*

After hacking my way through the overgrown jungle that is a writer’s first step, it is time to look back at where I have come from and where I intend to go from here.

The Journey

My journey began in October 2009 when I decided to focus on creative writing.  I began writing micro-fiction of six sentences as a way of “getting my feet wet.”

2010 was a year of practice, putting words out there, not planning out where I wanted to go with my writing or trying to get ahead of myself.

I came across Fiction Friday writing prompts at the site Write Anything.  Its premise is simple:

  • Spend at least 5 minutes composing something original based on the theme or challenge (and keep writing…)
  • But, remember, no editing. This is to inspire creativity not stifle it.
  • On Friday, simply post what you wrote to your own blog.

For me, this was the impetus to get writing and not to be afraid of doing it.  It forced me to write each week, to move beyond the initial fear of what people would think of my work.

I have received such amazing benefits from the experience.  I became involved in a strong, positive community that was encouraging and supportive providing feedback through comments. A few people deserve thanks: Icy, whose encouragement kept me writing, Annie and Jodi (co founder of eMergent Publishing) whose support cannot be underestimated.

It has led to involvement in Choose Your Online Adventures (a collaborative writing project) and and my debut publication in Literary Mix Tapes: Nothing But Flowers.

Later in 2010, I took another step forward by becoming involved in the #fridayflash community on twitter (courtesy of J.M. Strother @jmstro).  This is a broad and diverse community that if you spend some time, will encourage and support.

Through #fictionfriday and #fridayflash I have made some good friends and continue to do so.

Lastly in 2010, I began a web serial using characters and plots from a Fiction Friday prompt.  This has made me think about actually writing a novel.  When the serial is finished I am going to take it down and reshape it as a Young Adult novel.

Which reminds me, I had better go finish it. My characters are waiting to see what happens next.

So what do I write?

This has been a question I have been filtering for the last 12 months.  I know what I don’t write.

I don’t write horror, paranormal, zombies, romance, sci-fi, fantasy, speculative fiction, westerns, historical fiction or “other.”  I have dabbled in sci-fi and is a genre I might return to one day.

I write suburban realism (a term coined by Icy) – which is what exactly? Looking through my writing of 2010, it has predominantly been stories focused on the minutiae and ennui of people.  I take an aspect of relationships or circumstances of a person’s life and explore it.  It can be tragic, comic, tragi-comic or comic-tragedy. In writing flash fiction, I focus on the microscopic view that is a parable of the macro.

I have been strongly influenced by the writing of Tim Winton and Markus Zusak whose novel, “The Book Thief” is one of my all time favourite reads. Both have strongly poetic writing of vivid imagery and the intricacies of relationships.

Where To From Here?

Short stories or novels?

Do I ever have to write a novel? Perhaps not. Does a poet have to write an epic poem? I would like to write a novel, but I don’t feel like the compulsion to do so. I want to know I can write a novel, so that is on the cards.

I like the scope and framework of flash fiction and short stories and intend to write an anthology.

I want to push myself further this year by making 2011 the Year of Editing.  This is a necessary tool to improve the quality of my writing as I will begin submitting pieces of flash fiction or short stories to anthologies, competitions and literary journals.

I am a writer. I fabricate existences and construct realities that have a remarkable resemblance to real life. I tell lies and you believe it.

5 responses to “Turning 100

  1. Congratulations Adam on post #100. It has been a joy to stand on the sidelines and watch your writing not just grow, but flourish. I’ve seen the same jump in Ben Solah’s work also, from interesting to WOW!And another who has found [fiction] Friday a strong jump off point into an adventure in writing.

    It was an honour to publish your debut story (I really do have the best job on the planet and yes – I was only today talking AGAIN about ‘Headlines and Post-It Notes) and I hope some time in the future you can come to me with a bunch of amazing stories in hand for me to publish in a solo anthology of your work.

    Best of all – you’ve become a great friend with loads of appropriately timed humour and insight via FB, twitter and email.

    Thumbs up to the year of the edit and you know where I am, if you ever need help, encouragement or answers to questions.

  2. Congratulations on turning one hundred and well done for persevering with your work. It’s all to easy to let your work slip off with the pressures of real life. Looking forward to seeing your work develop in the future and seeing you go from success to success.

  3. So glad I could nudge/push/encourage/generally drag you along! I remember the first time I saw one of your flashes and saying “I like this guy”. So proud to have been there for the journey – and I’ll be there for a lot more!

  4. Congratulations! And thanks for sharing your evolution with us. I’m looking forward to your next project, whatever that ends up being.

  5. I’m pretty sure I’ve gotten e-mails about you wanting to write novels. Just keep working and pay attention to the ideas that have broad wings. Congratulations on one hundred posts, Adam.

Leave a Reply

