The Year That Was. The Year That Will Be.

We have reached the end of 2011.

Time's Running Out

The year is like a roll of toilet paper; the closer you get to the end, the faster it goes.

It is a handy time to pause and reflect, stare with focused gaze into one’s navel, pick out the lint and be careful you don’t stick your head too far up your bum and turn inside out.

THe year that was

I began writing in late 2009. I designated 2010 as my Practice Year. 2011 was to be the Year of Submission. Have I achieved it? No. Not in the way that I wanted because I didn’t create a plan.

By the end of the year I had three stories published: Headlines and Post-It Notes and Ashes to Ashes in eMergent Publishing’s Literary Mix Tapes’ anthologies “Nothing But Flowers” and “89.” I also had a piece of flash fiction, The Knight’s Defence published in the December edition of efiction magazine.

The first two came from associations and friendships formed via Write Anything. I am grateful for the wonderful opportunity to contribute, to be trusted as an unknown writer. Having The Knight’s Defence published makes me believe I have the potential to sell more.

the year that will be

A new year is a time to gird loins and make a list of No-No’s and Thou Shalt Not’s. Lists mean nothing unless there is a plan to back it up.

But I don’t do lists. I’ve decided on goals.

The problem is, I’ve never been much of a goal setting type of person. I’ve wanted to be one of those focused young things, changing the world before they’re twenty-five. Those years are a little behind me.

In the latter half of this year I set about designing and implementing writing goals. Lo and behold, I was able to reach them. Who’d a thunk it? I still need to revise the process, but it’s movement forward.

2012 is the Year of the Novel. I have never written a novel, although I’ve written enough words in the last year or so equivalent to a novel. And frankly, a pair of dark coloured underpants would be a useful to hide the fear I’m feeling.

But…

I am putting into place goals and plans to make this dream a reality. A key word to keep me going is “momentum.” I will set the marble rolling down the hill.

I will not measure myself against others. I will measure my success by the goals I have established.

4 responses to “The Year That Was. The Year That Will Be.

  1. Good luck, you can do it!

  2. Good luck, Adam! Deciding not to measure yourself against others is the smartest thing you can do. There are those in my writing group that can churn out a novel and multiple novells each year. I can’t do that. I measure my own progress and set my own goals, which have to be revised from time to time, but I don’t set myself up against others.

    And I hope the novel will still allow a little time for a flash here and there. We’d certainly miss you on Fridays.

  3. I know there are many writers who disagree with me on the utility of this particular exercise, but I’m going to recommend it to you anyway: NaNoWriMo. I know you’ve heard of it, I’m sure you know at least one other writer who has participated in it (like me). It does, amazingly enough, help.

    I went to college for creative writing. Multiple college professors, weekly deadlines with specific page counts and negative grades for failure to produce was not enough to get me over my inner critic enough to just write. NaNoWriMo was- three years running now. And, now that they do it July, August or November there are many options for when you want to commit to the month.

    Granted, my big issue is self criticism, you seem to have a lot more confidence which is helping you get your writing out there. But I still offer this recommendation simply because it helped me so much. Whatever you choose, make sure you have a way to hold yourself accountable- complete the outline by this date, finish this scene by this weekend, 50 pages by the end of this month. And make sure your cheerleaders know of your goals so they can praise the hell out of you when you reach them. Good luck!!

    • Thanks for the encouragement and support. I’ll be handing out cheer leading outfits and pom poms in the new year 🙂
      NaNo has always fallen at a bad time of the year for me in regards to work, but a planned bout of long service leave next year will balance it out.

Leave a Reply

