Confess Your Creativity

The default position of the creative person is one of self-doubt and lack of belief. A creative person questions his/her ability and creativity.

You hear them make statements such as:

“I’m a writer but I think what I write is rubbish.”
“I paint a little bit but I don’t display my work.”
“I play guitar but I’m not very good.”

We make a statement about our creativity and weaken it with a caveat: “but.”

It’s an act of self-deprecation in an attempt to sound humble or a way to avoid embarrassment. We make a trite statement, borne out of fear.

Fear of ridicule.

Fear of mockery.

Fear of failure.

Fear of scorn.

Fear of apathy.

We believe we are not worthy, that we know nothing, that we will be exposed as a sham or a farce dancing around in the Emperor’s new clothes.

The default position as a creative person should be one of confidence and belief. Confidence in your ability to write, paint, sculpt, play an instrument, or whatever creative endeavour you pursue; and a belief in the yourself as a creative person.

How do you move the default position from self-doubt and lack of belief to a new default position of confidence and belief?

The words we speak over ourselves have power.

For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks. Luke 6:45

Above all else, guard your heart,
for everything you do flows from it.
Proverbs 4:23

A creative person is passionate about his work and will speak with confidence about current projects and his ability as an artist. An artist knows he is always learning, creating the best product he can with the skills and resources he has. But he believes in who he is and what he does.

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. Ephesians 4:29

Keep your mouth free of perversity;
keep corrupt talk far from your lips.
Proverbs 4:24

Just as how you talk about yourself creates a positive perspective, so too does your talk about other people. Tearing down people is too easy and benefits no one. Speak positively about others and speak positively into their lives. Encourage and enable other creative people to fulfill their potential.

The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit. Proverbs 18:21

If you are a creative person, how will you speak about your work? How will you speak about yourself?

What will your default position be?

Make a statement today.

To take the first step, check out Jeff Goins’s (@JeffGoins) book, You Are A Writer.

I am making a statement, “I am a writer.”

Make a bold statement.

Make a bold, declarative statement.

Make a bold, declarative, confessional statement today to pronounce what you are to the world.

I am a ___________.

How will you fill in the blank?

4 responses to “Confess Your Creativity

  1. Everything you’ve said is so true. I always say “I write” instead of “I am a writer” or “I make and design jewellery” instead of “I’m a jewellery designer.” I just don’t quite know how to get my head to stop that and be more affirmative and positive. I’m learning, but it’s hard :-/ Thanks for this, I needed it.

  2. Pingback: Confess Your Creativity | A Fullness in Brevity – Adam Byatt | Law of Creations on Amazon.com | Scoop.it

  3. I am a music producer, and I renounce my distractions and delays in other fields…why, and how? I don’t dream about film making (except once, and it was a clear warning of who I might become*) I have dreams about music that show a world being positively changed and impacted – so why would I pursue anything else?
    It is very easy to get distracted, or confuse ancillary skills and resources with your ‘One Big Thing’ (Read the amazing book by Phil Cooke). If you are finding it hard to stick to your path, write your dreams and confessions on large sheets and post them all over your office and home – seriously, burn it into your brain that you are a ______________ and you are going to focus on that one thing to change your world.

    *I dreamed I was hanging with Lloyd Kaufman (Toxic Avenger), Kevin Smith (Clerks) John Waters (Peck) and others of their tawdry ilk – I don’t want to go out being remembered for films like that. When God warns you that your future will look like that, RUN. Successful, yes. Funny, sure. Quality content or something my kids should know me for…NO.

  4. Pingback: Rus VanWestervelt » Best Blog Writing on Creativity And The Arts: My 2012 Review

Leave a Reply

