Light My Way – Towards A Creative Manifesto

Towards a Creative Manifesto

I am a writer.

I write because I want to tell a story, but not just any story.

I write because I want to tell the story of those who are not heard.

I write because I want to tell the story of those who cannot speak.

I write because I want to tell the story of those who are disempowered.

I write because I want to tell the story for those who cannot.

I write because I believe that telling a person’s story is integral in understanding who they are.

I create art to speak into the darkness, that I may be a light for others to ignite their own flame and walk clearly.

10 responses to “Light My Way – Towards A Creative Manifesto

  1. Be that light! Inspiring manifesto.

  2. I don’t think every artist needs a manifesto. I think “shoulds” and “musts” get in the way of creativity :). That said, yours is a fab one.

    • Boundaries and limitations can serve as principles to help establish a creative life. Then you can jump over the fence and frolic naked.
      Definitive statements and imperatives can be constrictive but I think they are a good starting point.

      • Sure, if you work that way. I kind of blindly fumbled my way into what I’m doing, and I think if I’d tried to define myself from the outset I would have failed. I’m happy with writing what feels right at the moment, and I’ve written stuff that would probably transgress limits I might artificially set for myself.

      • Every artist finds their own way. Like you I fumbled blindly at the beginning, but had small stepping stones I was aiming for. Looking back I can see where I have come from, and feel comfortable with my progress. However, to move forward in my goals and aims, I need to be diligent and focused, make bold statements and have outrageous dreams. A manifesto helps me define those goals and dreams.

  3. I’m very interested in this Adam, because the people who tend to be the ones who can’t speak for themselves or can’t be heard, are unlikely to be able to read the words of those who want to help amplify them. That is an inherently political act of writing, which is how I regard my own approach, but it still is one based on certain privileges: – literacy, education, technology (e-readers) and the free time to write. These I find are paradoxes as much as inspirations?

    • I have a blog post in mind (which will probably end up as an essay or thesis) about creativity and disability, taking a tangential point from what you’re talking about. We use art as a remedial activity for those who are marginalised, eg the disabled, and have no voice, rather than using art as their voice. Been sitting in the back of my head for ages, with no notes yet, but it’s developing into a long and drawn out argument.
      The paradox is noted, and I can see the dichotomy, but I know that we won’t truly learn to love our neighbour as ourselves if we do not hear their story. Not for the sake of pity or sympathy, but the dignity of the individual.

  4. absolutely agree 100%. Part of my writing is political in the way I suggest above. But the other part is far more philosophical & universal, the parts that interrogate language, the constructed nature of reality and what it means to be human. These I feel are important notions, but so few seem interested in pursuing them.

    • Tangential Question: do the disempowered have avenues for speaking? Rap? Hip hop? Graffiti?
      I really enjoy how you interrogate language, the nature of reality and what it means to be human. Your stories are always such a mind trip and a lesson in creative writing.
      I also like to explore what it means to be human, but perhaps in a more visual or poetic way in language, tapping into the ennui and minutiae.

  5. Pingback: Why Do You Write? A Revision | A Fullness in Brevity - Adam Byatt

Leave a Reply

