Antidisestablishmentarianism – A Haiku

I set my Year 8 class a writing task today, 10 Things I Know to be True, or 10 Things I Should Know By Now (taken from Sarah Kay’s TED talk – it’s brilliant. Go watch it).

One of my students wrote, “I know ‘antidisestablishmentarianism’ is the longest word I know.”

We joked it was almost a haiku in itself. So I thought I’d make one. I know it’s not a correct or proper haiku but it’s a fun form to play with.

An-ti-dis-es-tab-
lish-ment-ar-i-an-ism
Longest word I know

What creative act have you done today?

4 responses to “Antidisestablishmentarianism – A Haiku

  1. carolynnemorrison

    I wrote a dystopian future that is nearly here.

  2. I love Sarah Kay! My kids love slam poetry, and we watched her TED talk. Another one of my favorite slams is Taylor Mali’s “Undivided Attention”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1MHVqAWGmI

  3. I have dabbled with creating haiku, write my thoughts as micropoetry, but had no clue, the latter, was a form of Japanese writing…nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

