Throw Out Thursday – Showing Your Work

For this week’s Throw Out Thursday, I’ve collected the random poetry I wrote with Year 8 last term. The focus was on haiku.

It’s a great way of introducing students to a poetic form and while there is a beautiful simplicity to haiku, there is also great depth and complexity in the form when explored.

But this is about throwing stuff out. And these are haiku I wrote on the board while my class was working. I believe it’s important for my students to see my writing, correcting, experimenting and exploring creatively.

Haiku with Year 8

Haiku with Year 8

Winter Haiku

Winter Haiku

Summer Haiku

Summer Haiku

 

Noodle Worms

Noodle Worms

Noodle Brain

Noodle Brain

Creativity is about experimenting, exploring, examining, and having a whole lot of fun.

These are brief experiments and part of the process of improving my writing craft. As Austin Kleon says, “Show your work.” You get to see a little of the word wrangling I do to.

Dare you to have a go at something creative.

2 responses to “Throw Out Thursday – Showing Your Work

  1. Winter Haiku is absolute perfection. Would you mind if I reblogged?

    Love your stuff!

Leave a Reply

