How Do You Make Something Creative and Cool?

How do you make something creative and cool?

I like seeing what people are doing with their creativity. Sites like This Is Colossal are a constant inspiration for what people can do. I love watching my mates Deane and Gary post their photos on Facebook, and through my twitter feed I see some very creative ideas.

I’ve seen cartoons drawn on Post It Notes, drawings scribbled on plastic lunch bags, bird cages suspended above a narrow laneway, umbrellas suspended in a similar way like a hundred invisible Mary Poppins.

And it’s brilliant. And so very cool.

So when I came across next earth is now on tumblr, I was intrigued. And even more surprised when I found out it was a writing friend, Daniel Ritter. I only made the connection when I saw it linked via his Facebook page. So I asked him about it.

In Daniel’s words, “(It’s) sort of an alternate reality experiment. Approaching it as if the photo/narrator is experiencing delusions that aliens or some other unknown agency has taken over the world, but he’s the only one that has noticed.

So far, this has been random, pants, discovery, stack-on-the-weirdness approach. Names have been named, rules have been established, so, it could be developed.”

They fill their zoos with us. Their zoos overcrowd with halfbreed children. They refuse to euthanize. They install …buttons under our feet. We do the dirty work, step by step. They’re absolved of murder.

They fill their zoos with us. Their zoos overcrowd with halfbreed children. They refuse to euthanize. They install …buttons under our feet. We do the dirty work, step by step. They’re absolved of murder.

You make something creative by experimenting, and Daniel has done this so well, playfully taking a foray into an idea and seeing where is goes.

And this is what makes creativity so very cool.

Follow next earth is now on tumblr
See what Daniel is up to on twitter @ReginaldGolding
And go have a sticky beak at his blog, Grounded Stories

 

2 responses to “How Do You Make Something Creative and Cool?

  1. Inspiration? Well I’m inspired. 🙂

  2. Hi just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know
    a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same
    outcome.

Leave a Reply

