The A-Z of Suggestions for Creative People

To misquote Captain Barbossa says, “They’re not so much rules, as guidelines.”

There are multiple permutations of a creative alphabet; your ideas will probably be better than mine. But that’s kinda the point. Listen to the advice, apply it to your work and do it better. Then teach someone else to do it. Pass the knowledge on.

Appreciate new ideas.

Build a body of work.

Collaborate. Cooperate. Coordinate. Critique. Vanilla Ice has wise words when he says, “Stop, collaborate and listen.”

Define your goals as a creative person. Revisit them weekly, monthly, yearly.

Explore what you’re passionate about. And maybe what scares you. You know, for balance.

Foster creative relationships for collaboration, networking and developing the next generation of new artists.

Grow as an artist. Stagnation is for ponds and mosquitoes.

Hunger for the development of your craft and the improvement of your skills.

Inspire others to create because the world needs useless beauty; it is there because it is, and it exists and it is uniquely you.

Jump into new opportunities. But check the depth first.

Kill what distracts you: procrastination, doubt, fear, comparison, jealousy.

Listen at every opportunity. Gather wise counsel and feed your soul.

Meditate on your work, why you do it and write a manifesto.

Network because it’s dangerous to go alone.

Occupy a creative space and protect it.

Publish your work. Whether it’s through your blog when you’re starting out or selling it via Etsy, Ebay or e-commerce.

Query why you are creating. Have you lost sight of your purpose?

Rush a new piece of work and enjoy the frenzy of ideas splashed down like a sudden summer storm.

Spend your time wisely.

Trust in your teachers and mentors.

Understand you are not your creative project; it is an expression of how you see and understand the world.

Vanquish your fears and validate how you feel about what you create.

Welcome feedback, critique, commentary that will help you grow as a creative person.

Xerox another artist’s work to learn how it is created. But show no one else. Learn how to apply it to your own work.

Yoke yourself to an artist further along the road than you. Learn from their guidance that one day you may be yoked to a new artist to teach them.

Zealously demand your need to create; creativity is oxygen to you. Without it you would suffocate.

What would your alphabet of suggestions for creative people be? Write a list, post it to your blog and link back here for everyone to read.

7 responses to “The A-Z of Suggestions for Creative People

  1. Some really resonating points. Thanks!!

  2. Reblogged this on Eliza Worner and commented:
    This would make a good infographic poster to pop on the wall above my writing desk.

  3. Thinking over the last couple of days, I’d probably change V from Vanquish to Vulnerability. Maybe a second alphabet later in the year.

  4. I have been creative all my life but as I enter my early fifties I am beginning to realize that my work has been external. It has occurred in realtionship with my children and chasing $ to support them becoming skilled in my profession and be a “good” man. I have always known on some level that my goodness was a dubious proposition but now it is a stark reality. I think somehow either out of ignorance or fear or perhaps something else I left me out of the mix. So at this juncture I would not presume to comment on A – Z. Presently I am a small child on the floor of my mother’ kitchen, crayon in hand struggling to form a semblance of the letter A. It is ridiculously misformed but she attaches it to her refrigerator with a smile nonetheless. Since its the beginning and the only letter I know I guess for me A would stand for Anima. She has been calling to me for a long time now. I think maybe I am finally ready to listen. Perhaps one day I can look to the straight back and curves of B. But for now it is beyond my skill. I enjoyed this piece.

    • There is always time to start. Give yourself permission to draw. Enjoy the process of learning.

      • I will get out my crayons. It may mediate me trying to be profound;)

      • I know a few people who use a colouring-in book and textas as a form of relaxation. My wife and girls all sit around the table and colour in together.

Leave a Reply

