Releasing A Story Is Like Farting In An Elevator

In the midst of my writing journey I am contemplating releasing a collection of Post It Note Poetry and Micropoetry. This is before I have sold a novel, completed a novella or sold more than one short story to a paying market. 

There are a bunch of questions hanging around:
Is it too early? 
Have I progressed as a writer to have confidence in my work?
Is it an act of onanism?
Or is it, as the title of the post alludes to, farting in an elevator. You want to do it because all the comedy films tell you it’s funny. You want to let it go it but unsure if there will be a sound to tell people of your release. Or maybe you want there to be a mighty trumpet.

The reality is, it may simply stink no matter how much you enjoy the release.

A writer never has confidence in his or her own work. I know I doubt what I write. I look back at the early beginnings of what I wrote, as evidenced here on the blog, and cringe, but I see the foundations of my writing. And others also saw the potential in the chaff and offered me opportunities to develop. And yet, I still lack confidence. But I believe in the potential I have.

But here’s the thing. I know I can get the opinions and advice from people I trust, who will tell me if my work is a pile of word vomit or worth putting out. 

Every piece I write will be a reflection of my skill and development as a writer AT THAT POINT. I won’t be embarrassed at the beginnings but understand it is part of the apprenticeship I served to become a writer. I liken it to going through a band’s back catalogue.

So next time I fart in the elevator, I hope you laugh along with me because I’ll be laughing with you if it’s you who farts instead.

5 responses to “Releasing A Story Is Like Farting In An Elevator

  1. You brought an amusing anecdote and clarity to something I’ve (sorta’) understood about my own writing for a while now. It is what it is, I suppose.

    • I’m only a short distance into my writing journey, and sometimes I wonder if sending out a story for possible publication is like the analogy given above. However, how else does one learn? We ask for, and accept feedback from, trusted readers to help us along the way.
      But once it has left our hands, it is the reader who connects or disconnects with it, regardless of our intentions or purpose.
      It’s tricky, but an art to pursue.

Leave a Reply

